Association Headlines

NAREE Elects 2020 Board of Directors
Published Friday, November 8, 2019

San Francisco, CA - The National Association of Real Estate Editors has elected new officers and board members to serve on the 2020 NAREE Board of Directors.

NAREE’s new president is Catie Dixon, managing editor of Bisnow Media. Orange County Register/Southern California News Group reporter Jeff Collins is NAREE's new vice president. Beth DeCarbo, Wall Street Journal is now NAREE Chairman of the Board

Dixon, who has been with Bisnow since 2009, previously served as NAREE vice president and headed up NAREE's peer-to-peer professional development program, NAREE University, at NAREE's 2019 Austin conference. 

“I am honored to lead NAREE and support its mission of fostering excellence in journalism,” Dixon said. “As journalists increasingly face distrust from readers and shrinking newsrooms, NAREE strives to give them the tools to sharpen their skills, maintain their credibility and write articles that matter. It is a privilege and a great responsibility to uphold this tradition, and I do not take it lightly.”

NAREE’s new board members were installed at NAREE’s Officer Installation and Leadership Service Awards Dinner on Friday, Nov. 8, 2019 at the Thirsty Bear restaurant here in San Francisco. 

Collins, who has served on NAREE's board prior to his election as vice president, has already begun to work on NAREE University programming for NAREE's upcoming 2020 Conference in Miami. NAREE's next conference at the Kimpton Epic Miami will run June 24-27.  

NAREE’s 2020 second vice president is Kris Hudson of CBRE. Hudson who worked previously at the Wall Street Journal served as NAREE president in 2013. 

Jason Hidalgo, the economic development reporter for the reno Gazette-Journal, was elected NAREE treasurer. He has served previously as a NAREE officer and board member and did extensive reporting as a Fulbright Scholar in Japan.

Jack Sidders, based in London and covering European real estate news for Bloomberg was elected NAREE secretary. 

Katherine Clarke, Wall Street Journal real estate reporter and Eileen McEleney Woods, editor of the Boston Globe Sunday real estate section and its companion e-newsletter were elected as active directors at-large.

Each has won NAREE journalism awards and helped with the annual conference.

Jim Lapides of the National Multfamily Housing Council was elected to serve as an associate director at-large. Lapides has won several industry awards.

Other NAREE members continuing to serve on the 2020 board are 2018 NAREE president Dion Haynes, Washington Post; 2017 NAREE president Michelle Jarboe, Plain Dealer; Jeff Ostrowski, Palm Beach Post; J. Scott Trubey, Atlanta Journal-Constitution; Lorraine Woellert, POLITICO and Tony Wilbert, CoStar News.

Send this page to a friend