The 10th Annual Robert Bruss Real Estate Book Awards

The 10th Book Awards Deadline: April 15, 2017 for books published in 2016

Gold,  Silver, and Bronze Awards  plus

First-time Author Award


Click Here for the 10th Annual Bruss Book Contest Application
(Deadline: April 15, 2017)


NAREE's Book Awards are named for the late Bob Bruss, syndicated real estate columnist, prolific writer, and longtime NAREE leader and mentor who enjoyed reviewing real estate books and was instrumental in building association membership for many years.

The awards program was created to recognize the excellence manifested in the work of real estate authors on an annual basis. Books focusing on the broad field of real estate including mortgage finance; home buying and selling; the business of real estate, government housing policy, green building, urban design, investing, architecture, and construction are expected among myriad other topics. 

The awards program is being funded by generous grants from the late Leigh Robinson, founder of Express Publishing, author of "Landlording," and NAREE 2011 President and his wife, Ivy Robinson, as well as Brad Inman of Inman News; and in-kind donations from the NAREE Board of Directors and Past Presidents.

Submission Requirements

Submissions must be postmarked by April 15, and received no later than April 20, and should include:

1) Three copies of either the pre-publication version or the publication version of the entire book or E Book CD.
2) Three copies of a maximum of 5,000 words selected from the book by its author, editor, or publisher as representative of the book as a whole. (Please select a key chapter or two.)
3) Application form and entry fee.

Entry Fee
Entry fees are $100 for NAREE (2016 dues paid ) current members, and $125 for non-members. Join NAREE - CLICK HERE. 

Submission Note: No submissions will be returned.

The entire book and the selection of 5,000 words from the book will be sent to a panel(s) of three qualified judges. Judges may read only the 5,000 words or the entire book. Judges score each book on the following five attributes using a scale of 1-100:
• Originality  • Readability  • Accuracy  • Coverage of subject  • Scholarship  • Design

Highest three accumulated scores win, plus a fourth award will be given for the Best First-time Author.

Each winner is to receive a certificate and cash award as follows:
Gold: $1,000
Silver: $500
Bronze: $250
First-time Author: $250

Award Presentation
The Bruss Awards presentation will be a highlight of the Annual NAREE Spring conference, June, 14-17, 2017 in Denver, Colorado. The Bruss Book Awards Luncheon -- Noon, June 16 at the Brown Palace Hotel -- will pay tribute to Leigh and Ivy robinson and feature insights on self-publishing and digital publishing.


Link to winners of 2008 Bruss Book Awards

Link to winners of 2009 Bruss Book Awards

Link to winners of 2010 Bruss Book Awards

Link to winners of 2011 Bruss Book Awards

Link to winners of 2012 Bruss Book Awards

Links to 2013-2016 winners coming.


The Bruss Awards presentation is only one of the significant events that will be occurring at the NAREE Spring Conference. The conference will feature newsworthy panels, interesting field trips and outstanding networking and professional development opportunities.

Those not present will be mailed awards. Award winners will be posted on and in the NAREE News after the awards banquet.