Founded in 1929, NAREE is a non profit association of real estate writers, editors, columnists, authors and communicators more than 600 members worldwide. 

Annual events: NAREE's 54th Annual Conference: NAREE leaders put together panels of newsmakers and trend setters to discuss issues of the day and to answer reporter questions on breaking stories. NAREE University professional development sessions are also scheduled. The association celebrates the winners of the Annual Real Estate Journalism Competition and the Bruss Book Competition, and offers networking events. This year's annual conference is a virtual event  

Please continue to scroll down or pull down the tabs at the top of the naree.org home page for information on how to join and for information on specific programs, events and publications.

Ongoing Virtual Events

NAREE University Live  and NAREE's Industry Insights were created to virtually connect members throughout the year.

NAREEE University Live is a virtual roundtable series for journalists with topics including how do do your job in the pandemic.  Click the NU Live icon on the home page for recaps and future roundtables. Members are invited to suggest topics by emailing nareeprograms@gmail.com

NAREE's Industry Insights debuted Thursday, June 25  with the CRE's "2020-21 Top Ten issues Affecting Real Estate."    



Annual Journalism Awards: 

Bruss Book Awards: Deadline 

Bivins Fellowship Awards: 

• Additional NAREE Honors

- NAREE Lifetime Achievement Award - Board members may nominate candidates, not always annually, who are career real estate journalists who have fostered the profession through outstanding achievement as real estate writers, reporters, columnists and/or editors coupled with exceptional, professional and personal leadership service in advancing the field.

NAREE 2017-18 President Dion Haynes, Washington Post Real Estate Editor initiated the award in 2017.  

NAREE's inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to columnist Ken Harney of the Washington Post Writers Group in November of 2017. Ken served as NAREE's 2008 president, co-chaired NAREE's 2005 DC conference, chaired NAREE's 2009 DC conference, is a frequent conference advisor and moderator and has also mentored many NAREE members over the years. Ken has won more than two dozen NAREE Journalism Competition Awards, written two real estate books, and hosted a weekly real estate TV show. 

In 2019, NAREE's Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Steve Brown, Dallas Morning News real estate editor and NAREE 2016 president. Steve chaired NAREE's Dallas conference in 2009 and continues to serve as a conference advisor. Each year he moderates NAREE's economic forecast panel and often moderates other panels as well. Steve who started with the Dallas Morning News 40 years ago is a highly respected editor and prolific writer. Steve received his award from NAREE 2019 president Beth DeCarbo, Wall Street Journal at the Austin Conference after being nominated by Texas journalists Ralph Bivins, Realty News Report, Katherine Feser, Houston Chronicle and Shonda Novak, Austin American-Stateman.

- NAREE Sterling Award - Begun in 2017, NAREE's first Sterling Award was given to NAREE 2005 President, Sue Doerfler, for 25 years of continuous service to the organization.  Sue worked for the Arizona Republic for more than two decades as a reporter and had her own TV show there as well. She has chaired NAREE's Meet the Press for more than 20 years and has won numerous NAREE Journalism Competition Awards.

- NAREE President's Awards - Each year NAREE's President honors outstanding NAREE volunteers for their leadership and service in appreciation for their  time and expertise in assisting with NAREE's Spring Conference and myriad programs. 


(full-time, working journalists only)
Active members shall have as their principal occupation independent reporting, transmitting or editing of news, features and columns about real estate and/or housing for news media independent of sponsoring organizations, advertising control, trade associations, lobby groups and are not produced in concert with real estate companies, building companies, developers, architects, land planners or any company involved in the broad field of real estate or governmental entities. (Principal occupation means more than 50 percent of their time.) Membership is open to eligible digital, print and broadcast journalists. $75.00 annual dues.

Writers, editors, columnists, investigative reporters -- staff and freelancers -- covering the broad field of real estate including:

• Residential and Commercial Real Estate

• Mortgage and Finance

• Home and Urban Design

• Luxury, Green Building and Architecture 

(writers for special interest publications and communications professionals.)

Associate members are professional writers who do not qualify as full-time journalists for independent print or broadcast media or communications specialists who write or disseminate information for a limited audience or for real estate-relate business. $195.00 annual dues.

Writers and communicators for special interest information outlets and marketplaces and/or non-news divisions of media parent companies include:

• Writers, editors, producers, bloggers, columnists and/or content providers for trade association affiliated publications, real estate industry special interest publications and sponsoring organizations.

• Publishers, authors, columnists and bloggers and those who write for independent news outlets in the news division – part-time – as a complement to their industry-related jobs.

• Communications professionals – publicists, marketing directors and consultants who disseminate information on behalf of real estate-related business interests.



• NAREE News Past Issues (Members Only)

• NAREE NAREE Network (Members Only)

• NAREE Annual Conference Book (Members Only)


NAREE Past Presidents


2019 Beth DeCarbo, Wall Street Journal

2018 Dion Haynes, The Washington Post

2017 Michelle Jarboe, The Plain Dealer

2016 Steve Brown, Dallas Morning News

2015 Shonda Novak, Austin American-Statesman

2014 Daniel Taub, Bloomberg News

2013 Kris Hudson, Wall Street Journal

2012 Harold Bubil, Sarasota Herald-Tribune

2011 Leigh Robinson, Express Publishing

2010 Lauren Beale, Los Angeles Times

2009 Holden Lewis, Bankrate.com

2008 Ken Harney, Washington Post Writers Group

2007 Lois Weiss, New York Post

2006 Al Heavens, Philadelphia Inquirer

2005 Sue Doerfler, Arizona Republic

2004 Michael Desiato, Real Estate Forum

2003 Greg Thomas, Times-Picayune

2002 Carl Larsen, San Diego Union-Tribune

2001 Dick Barnes, Los Angeles Times

2000 Earni Young, Philadelphia Daily News

(Full list dating back to 1929 is in NAREE's Annual Directory and elsewhere on this Website.)

Contact NAREE


561-391-3599 office

561-391-1983 mobile